Committees Leadership

A list of our committees is presented below:
  • Applied Demography
    Represents the activities, interests and perspectives of the Business Demography and State and Local Demography Interest Groups including organizing annual meeting sessions, communications, and activities.
  • Board of Directors
    The governing body of the Population Association of America.
  • Clifford C. Clogg Award Committee
    This committee selects the Clifford C. Clogg Award recipient biennially.
  • Committee on Government and Public Affairs (GPAC)
    The Government and Public Affairs Committee works with government and public officials in support of population research activities. See the brochure for details.
  • Committee on Population Statistics (COPS)
    A prestigious group of PAA members, appointed by the PAA President, who meet twice a year to discuss technical issues and activities important to Federal statistical agencies and to advise the PAA leadership on these issues.
  • Development Committee
    The PAA Development committee is a permanent standing committee with primary responsibility for raising additional funds beyond membership dues, annual meetings revenues, and subscriptions.
  • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
    The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee's charge is to ensure that PAA honors its commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion with respect to a broad array of social positions. These include (but are not limited to) race, ethnicity, gender, gender expression, socioeconomic status, nationality, ability, and sexual orientation. Principles of DEI apply to all aspects of the organization such as membership, session topics, opportunities for presenting research, serving on committees, and leadership roles. We anticipate that our understanding of these issues will expand over time and we will seek to be inclusive of new relevant concepts as they become understood.
  • Dorothy S. Thomas Award Committee
    This committee selects the recipient for the annual Dorothy S. Thomas Award.
  • Early Achievement Award Committee
    Selects the recipient of the biennial Early Achievement Award.
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance Committee
    Oversees the PAA finances including investments, award endowments, and general financial health.
  • Harriet B. Presser Award Committee
    This committee selects the recipient of the Harriet B. Presser Award .
  • History Committee
  • International Outreach Committee
    Seeks to increase the contact between PAA members and demographers in developing countries. Over the years the primary mechanism for achieving this goal has been the Travel Awards program that supports attendance at the PAA meeting
  • Irene B. Taeuber Award Committee
    Selects the recipients of the Irene B. Taeuber Award.
  • Membership Committee
  • Mindel C. Sheps Award Committee
    This committee selects the recipient of the Mindel C. Sheps award.
  • Nominations Committee
    This committee is elected by the membership and selects the nominees for PAA elections.
  • PAA Awards Committee
    This committee is charged with evaluating and recommending award policy; establishment and administration of awards.
  • PAA Memorial Service
    The committee organizes the service held at the annual meeting.
  • Program Committee
    These members help select topics and organizers for the Annual Meeting.
  • Publications Committee
    The Committee on Publications is mandated by the PAA Constitution. Members are elected for a three year term, beginning January 1 of the year after the election. One member is elected each year and one rotates off at the end of each year. Each member serves as Chair in his-her third year. Every three years this committee is called upon to undertake the major task of recommending new editors for "Demography" and "PAA Affairs." At the Spring 1989 Board meeting, it was decided that the Chair presiding in the year new editors are selected will serve in an ex-officio capacity during the next selection year.
  • Robert J. Lapham Award Committee
    Selects the recipient of the Robert J. Lapham Award.