2019 AAEES Awards Luncheon and Conference

Apr 25, 2019 08:00am -
Apr 25, 2019 04:00pm

Event Description


2019 AAEES Awards Luncheon and Conference

April 25, 2019
National Press Club
529 14th Street, NW
Washington, DC


8:00 am-8:30 am

Continental Breakfast

8:30 am-8:45 am

Welcoming Remarks

8:45 am-9:15 am

Dr. Domenico Grasso
NAE – Grand Challenges for Environmental Engineering in the 21st Century

9:15 am-9:35 am

Superior Achievement Award
Entrant: Orange County Sanitation District
Engineer In Charge: Jeffrey Brown, P.E., BCEE
Project Name: Multipronged Collection System Odor Control Program at OCSD; Less Odors and Lower Costs
Location: Fountain Valley, California

Presented by: Kathy Millea

9:35 am-9:55 am

Superior Achievement Award
Entrant: Yang Deng, Ph.D., P.E.
Engineer In Charge: Yang Deng, Ph.D., P.E.
Project Name: Emergency Water Treatment with Ferrate(VI) in Response To Natural Disasters
Location: Montclair, New Jersey

Presented by: Yang Deng

9:55 am-10:15 am

Grand Prize - Research
Entrant: District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority/Hampton Roads Sanitation District
Engineer In Charge: Christine DeBarbadillo, P.E./Charles Bott, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
Project Name: When the Detour Turns Out to be a Shortcut: Partial Denitrification (PdN) – Anammox as Alternative Strategy for Mainstream Deammonification
Location: District of Columbia

Presented by: Haydee DeClippelier and Stephanie Klaus

10:15 am-10:30 am


10:30 am-10:50 am

Grand Prize - Planning
Entrant: CDM Smith
Engineer In Charge: Christina Petersen, Ph.D., P.E.
Project Name: The Water Forward Integrated Water Resource Plan
Location: Austin, Texas

Presented By: Dan Rodrigo

10:50 am-11:10 am

Grand Prize - Design
Entrant: Los Angeles Department of Water and Power
Engineer In Charge: David Pettijohn, P.E., BCEE
Project Name: Tujunga Spreading Grounds Enhancement Project
Location: Los Angeles, California

Presented By: Art Castro

11:10 am-11:30 am

Grand Prize - Small Firms
Entrant: Nuvoda, LLC
Engineer in Charge: Jason Calhoun, P.E.
Project Name: Town of Moorefield/Hardy County Regional WWTP Upgrade with the MOB™ Process
Location: Moorefield, West Virginia

Presented By: Sage Chang and Jason Calhoun

11:30 am-11:50 am

Grand Prize - Environmental Sustainability
Entrant: TRC Environmental Corporation
Person in Charge: Rebecca Hollender, CPG, LSRP
Project Name: Nutley Site Remediation Project on Behalf of Hoffmann-La Roche
Location: Nutley, New Jersey

Presented By: Nidal Rabah

11:50 am-12:30 pm

Reception featuring Winning Projects' Posters

12:30 pm-1:00 pm

Awards Luncheon

1:00 pm-1:30 pm

Keynote Speaker - Dr. Rula Deeb

1:30 pm-2:30 pm

Awards Presentations

2:30 pm-3:00 pm

Project Posters - Open Forum

3:00 pm

Conference Adjourns


Recognizing the following distinguished environmental engineers and environmental scientists:

David A. Dzombak, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
Gordon Maskew Fair Award

Roland Benson Pair, P.E., BCEE
Stanley E. Kappe Award

Christopher R. Schulz, P.E., BCEE
Edward J. Cleary Award

Joseph Alfred Cotruvo, Ph.D., BCES
Science Award

Gordon Maskew Fair, Ph.D.
Honorary Member (in Memoriam)

Chihpin Huang, Ph.D.
International Honorary Member

Sarina J. Ergas, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Education Award

Dylan Wood
Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award

Christopher Lawson
W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award

Monica C. Resto-Fernandez
W. Brewster Snow Award

The 2019 Environmental Communication winners:

  • Grand Prize: Alexandria Renew Enterprises for Turning a Pump Station into a Destination
  • Honor Award: LA Sanitation & Environment and LA Department of Water & Power for One Water LA


Click here to download the reservation form if you need to pay via check or cannot register online.

Event Type:Annual Awards
Category:Awards Luncheon & Conference
Early registration ends on Feb 13, 2019.
Regular registration starts on Feb 14, 2019 and ends on Apr 24, 2019.
Late registration starts on Apr 25, 2019.
(GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)


Registration Fees
Fee TypeEarlyRegularLate
 All Day (Reception, Luncheon, and Conference)
Member Fee: $295.00$295.00$295.00
Non-Member Fee: $325.00$325.00$325.00
 Conference Only
Member Fee: $250.00$250.00$250.00
Non-Member Fee: $250.00$250.00$250.00
 Reception/Luncheon Only
Member Fee: $80.00$80.00$80.00
Non-Member Fee: $125.00$125.00$125.00

American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists | 147 Old Solomons Island Road, Suite 303 | Annapolis, MD 21401 | 410.266.3311

Copyright © 2019, American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists - All Rights Reserved.

This is a secure website.

© 2019 Community Brands Holdings, LLC. All rights reserved.